Controversial Call Mars MD – UConn NCAA Baseball

Maryland Terrapins

Maryland Terrapins
picture: Getty Images

This was bad baseball all around, except for referee Jeff Head who plays in his house. Almost every bit of the most significant play from the College Park Regional Final for the NCAA Baseball Championship was ridiculous.

As Chris Alleyne of Maryland hits a slow reel down the first base line, one next action after another was performed horribly until the play was blown. Justin Willis, pitchers of UConn was slow to respond after the call, Huskies captain Ben Hooper stood in an imperfect position to get out, and Allen, the most outrageous of all, didn’t stay inside what the NCAA defines as the base track.

Each team was three wins away from the World College Championship on Monday night. One play is a small sample size but here a disaster of errors occurred, both literal and figurative. No one from Head, who was the only person on the field who saw everything perfectly clear, as it should be.

Rule 7, Section 11, Part P of the NCAA Baseball Rules 2021-22 states that a hitter is out if “when running the last half of the distance from the home plate to first base while sending the ball to first base, the hitter-runner runs outside the restriction line.” 3 feet tall or inside the foul line, thereby interfering with the player throwing the ball at first base, except that the hitter may exit from these lines to avoid the ball player attempting to hit.”

In simpler terms, any controversy could be why one of the best Terps players does not adhere to this rule at such a crucial point in the game, whether out or not. This is especially true when the first rule note reads: “If a batting runner running illegally to first base and his presence outside the lane alters a fielder’s throw, obstructs or alters a player’s chance of throwing the ball, or the runner is hit with the throw made in an attempt to make a play, It should be called interfering and the runner-hitter is called.”

Of course, there are exceptions where the rule should not apply. And they work against Alleyne’s way to the first. The mixture box is left running in a dirty area where the collision could have been avoided. He shifted his fast lane to the fair side of the line, perfectly in line with where Hopper was parked. It seems intentional, whether or not that was Alleyne’s intention. The list of exceptions makes any Maryland appeal weak. And yes, the referees have reviewed and upheld the call.

Exception #1 reads, “A runner is permitted to exit the three-foot running lane by means of a step, step, reach, or slide in the immediate vicinity of first base and with the sole purpose of touching first or attempting to avoid a mark. He may exit (base lane 7) in his stride. his last or last step if he is running lawfully within the jogging lane up to that point.” It wasn’t Allene. next one.

Note 2: “A runner is considered to be outside this 3-foot lane if either of the feet is outside either line.” By the time Alleyne hits Hopper, both feet are out of line, making for an easy call. Despite the lack of play quality from Willis and the poor throw that would have resulted in a no-collision foul, it is completely nullified when Alleyne veers too far from the path given to the runners. He left. Because of the play blown up at that point, the Maryland baseman, who scored during Alleyne’s run to first base, had to properly return to third base. The run never crossed the board as the third inning of the eighth took place with the following batter.

UConn won the game 11-8 and advanced to the Super Regionals, where the No. 2 overall seed Stanford will likely overtake them in Palo Alto this weekend. Husky dogs did not advance due to any advantage given to them by the rulers. In real time, the call looks difficult and wrong. Asking her again, the anger was not justified. Head made the right decision, overturning the rule of first rule, as he had a better view of the entire play. No additional actions need to be added to college baseball, including adjusting the grammar language. The correct call was made in the field and confirmed via a replay.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.