Two golfers make aces using the same ball on the same day

This story is a justification for those of us who can’t help but put every scratched, dented, or muddy golf ball we put in our way as we search for our golf ball. Face it: you can always use more. And you never know – Bridgestone’s next racket or third title holder you toss in your bag can produce a super pure shot, one you’ll proudly display for life.

That’s exactly what happened to a pair of golfers at the Minneapolis Golf Club last week, just asking how to properly celebrate their achievement is a tough question. We will explain.

First, 13-year-old Preston Miller came to the 121-yard, 3-foot fourth hole and found the bottom of the cup with an iron 7. The rookie eighth grader—who plays on the university squad at nearby St. Louis Park High School—scored his first title in His career with Titleist 4 Pro V1 embossed with the school logo (important details to be discussed later).

Then, in a terrifying twist, Miller then used the ball with several holes and attached it to a wooded area. He found the ball, but the reunion was short, as he lost it (apparently) forever after trying to play a difficult second shot through the trees.

Enter Ricardo Fernandez, who was playing in a group a few holes in front of him when he went looking for his stray shot in the woods next to the 7th and 12th holes and ended up putting Miller’s ball in the pocket. He didn’t play it right away, but after a few slots it looked very attractive in his bag.

“He was on top,” Fernandez told the Minneapolis Star Tribune. “It was a great ball. I wasn’t playing very well so I might have hit that game too.”

Using the pop-up school-logo ball, Fernandez proceeded with the 181-yard 16th hole. This was the fourth hole in his career. Word soon returned to Fernandes that he wasn’t the only golfer to hit the rare feat that day – but the event’s rarity was about to reach another level when he bumped into Miller, who was enjoying a post-round meal in the club’s dining room.

“He walked in and asked if this was one of our balls,” Miller said. Golf.com. He says, ‘Well, I punched a hole in one with it. “I say, there’s no way because I had a hole in one too, and then lost it.”

While Fernandez was visibly grateful for his fateful encounter with the ball, he was annoyed that the young golfer brought the trophy back into play.

“You played the same ball you hit a hole in one?” Fernandez Miller asked. “Rule #1 is to put it in your bag.”

A Facebook post from TwinCitiesGolf.com shared by John Rouleau on Twitter, helping the story establish a viral foothold. And before a few news outlets could reach both golfers, opinions were mixed on Twitter about how the duo was involved – or not – in sponsoring the trophy.

As for us, we prefer the Michael Scott School of Conflict Resolution. Dunder Mifflin’s Scranton branch manager might use a “win-win” solution: making a ball shirt so one player can look at it while the other wears it.

But we’ll stop chasing the ball’s ultimate fate: Fernandez was happy to return it to its original owner. But he had to impart a little wisdom to keeping up with it.

Fernandez remembers telling his new friend, “Raise it, and I hope it gives you luck for life. Because oh my God, there’s so much luck in that ball.”


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.