Kobayashi tops playoffs, hyper-designed venues – Sportscar365

Photo: MBS

Kamui Kobayashi set the fastest time on Wednesday in qualifying for the 24 Hours of Le Mans, as Hyperpole contenders in each class were determined during a rain-hit session in the second half.

Kobayashi sprinted at 3:27,247 behind the wheel of the #7 Toyota GR010 Hybrid to set off the fastest on the hour-long lap.

All five hypercars are already guaranteed a place in the Hyperpole, but the Japanese driver nonetheless beat Romain Dumas’ No. 708 Glickenhaus 007 Pipo by 0.108 seconds.

Ryan Briscoe’s ranked 709th Glickenhaus finished third, while Nicolas Lapierre took fourth with Alpine.

Brendon Hartley’s Toyota #8 was unable to make a competitive time after spending the first part of the session in the garage tackling a right rear issue.

Once Hartley was out, his run was halted with a red flag due to the crash of the #93 Michael Fassbender Proton Competition Porsche 911 RSR-19.

After the session resumed, only a few drivers were able to put their improved laptops until it started raining.

In all three other categories, the class’s six best drivers earned a spot at Hyperpole.

At LMP2, Robin Frijns led the way behind the wheel of Team 31 Team WRT Oreca 07 Gibson with a margin of 3:29.898.

Antonio Felix da Costa of Jota came in second, with Norman Nato taking the other spots at Hyperpole, United Autosports entries from Alex Lane, Felipe Albuquerque and Prima Luis Deletraz.

Charles Millesi just missed out on the Richard Mille Racing top six, with Panis Racing, Team Penske and a third WRT entry led by Mirko Bortolotti failing to make the cut.

Two LMP2s were not off-track during the session, so they will be judged to start the race from behind.

Vector Sport had engine trouble and was unable to participate, while the #45 Algarve Pro Racing car did not derail after a training accident for Steven Thomas that damaged the chassis.

The GTE-Pro saw the six cars that entered the factory take the top six, with Riley Motorsports excluded.

Laurens Vanthoor was fastest in the #92 Porsche 911 RSR-19 with a best lap of 3:50.999, which was 0.133sec faster than Antonio Garcia’s #63 Corvette C8.R.

Fred Makewski finished third in the Porsche sister, while Nick Tandy took fourth, ahead of the AF Corse Ferrari 488 GTE Evos driven by James Calado and Antonio Foucault.

Nicki Thiim topped the GTE-Am class for Northwest AMR, with Kessel Racing and Nick Cassidy’s #54 AF Corse Ferrari.

Rahel Frey earned a Hyperpole position for the #85 Iron Dames Ferrari alongside Harry Tincknell of Dempsey Proton Racing with Vincent Abril taking the last place in the #61 AF Corse Ferrari.

Ben Barker’s 86 GR Racing Porsche lost to Abril by 0.007 seconds, with both Team Project 1 cars losing pieces.

Julian Andlauer, who earned a Hyperpole in the class last year, was also left out of the top six in 10th place.

Cars return to the track for night practice at 10 p.m. local time (4 p.m. ET).

Results: qualification

Devi Iwima He is a Sportscar365 reporter based in the Netherlands, covering the FIA ​​World Endurance Championship, DTM, AWS-supported Fanatec GT World Challenge Europe and the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship, among other series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.