Chelsea’s Sam Kerr wins the PFA Player of the Year award

Women’s Premier League Golden Boot winner Sam Kerr was named PFA Player of the Year, making her the first Australian international to win the award.

Manchester City’s Lauren Hemp retained the PFA Young Player of the Year title and made history as the first player to win the award four times.

The Asian Football Confederation selects the Men’s Premier League Team of the Year
– Stream ESPN FC Daily on ESPN+ (US only)
Euro 2022: Your guide for every team

Kerr scored 20 goals this season for Chelsea to secure their third consecutive WSL title. She also scored in the FA Cup Final as Chelsea beat City to win back-to-back titles.

“I do a lot as a player, sometimes it doesn’t, sometimes it doesn’t, but I think you have to see for yourself in those moments,” Kerr said in a statement.

“I just really believe in myself. Just so much confidence that in the 90th minute or whatever, the team will give me the ball and count on me. Knowing that my team’s confidence gives me so much confidence. I love those big moments – that’s what I live for as a footballer” .

Kerr was also named to this year’s PFA WSL Team along with her teammates Ann-Katrin Berger, Millie Bright and Guro Reiten.

Arsenal captained England captain Lea Williamson, Kim Little and Vivian Miedema while Alex Greenwood, Caroline Weir and Hemp also participated in Arsenal. Una Battle was the only player from Manchester United.

“It’s such an honor to have this again,” Hemp said of her fourth award. “I especially think that they are voted for by the players I’ve played against and faced with. I mean, I look at many of them as role models too, so it’s an honor to be chosen from them.”

“After the end of a great season, I also have a lot to thank my teammates for, to be honest, because I think they make me look better than I already do.”

The 2022 PFA Merit Award has been given to Brighton coach and former England coach Hope Powell for her outstanding contribution to football.

“It is a true honor to receive this trophy,” she said in a statement. “I feel so lucky and blessed to be in the game after so many years, really grateful.

“One of the great things about being in the game is the vast experiences I’ve had over the years, whether you’re a player or coach at the FIFA World Cup Finals, the European Finals, the Olympics and now at Brighton.”

PFA WSL Team of the Year

Anne Catherine Berger – Chelsea
Una Battle – Manchester United
Leah Williamson – Arsenal
Millie Bright – Chelsea
Alex Greenwood – Manchester City
Kim Little – Arsenal
Caroline Weir – Manchester City
Guru Ritten – Chelsea Women
Lauren Hemp – Manchester City
Sam Kerr – Chelsea
Vivian Midema – Arsenal

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.