Cypress to lure Ryan Miller to the Hall of Fame, retired shirt number

The Buffalo Sabers announced today that the team will induct former goalkeeper Ryan Miller into the Sabers Hall of Fame and retire the number 30 at the KeyBank Center during the 2022-23 season.

The date for Miller’s appointment and the number’s retirement ceremony will be announced later this summer.

Video: Siberese announces the retirement of the owner of the shirt number 30 Miller

“Ryan Miller exemplifies what people in western New York expect from those who wear the Buffalo Sabers: on-ice excellence and commitment and true love for this community,” said Sabers general manager Kevin Adams. “His enduring relationship with the people here in Buffalo remains a standard that we strive to follow every day.

“We are thrilled that Ryan has taken his rightful place alongside his fellow Sabers Legends and we look forward to celebrating his career.”

Miller was selected by the Sabers during the fifth round of the 1999 NHL Draft (ranked 138 overall) and went on to play parts of 11 seasons at the Buffalo, during which he compiled one of the most accomplished resumes by a goalkeeper in franchise history. He holds records in matches played by the goalkeeper (540), wins (284), and saved (14,847). Dominic Hasek, who had 28 closes as a Saber, was second only to the Hall-of-Fame goalkeeper, while he was third with a .916 save percentage.

Miller’s time at Buffalo included four trips to the Stanley Cup playoffs, scoring 0.917 savings in 47 games and supporting the team to the Eastern Conference Finals in 2006 and 2007.

His most dominant season came in 2009-10, when he posted a career-high of 0.929 savings and 41-18-8 to lead the Sabers to the Northeast Division title and capture the Vezina Cup as the best goalkeeper in the NHL. That same winter, Miller was named Player of the Tournament at the 2010 Winter Olympics in Vancouver after leading Team USA to the silver medal.

Miller retired after the 2020-21 season with 391 career wins, the most ever by a US-born goalkeeper and 14th in National Hockey League history, ahead of Hasek by two wins.

The East Lansing, Michigan native has loved himself to western New York through his philanthropic work, which earned him recognition as the NHL Foundation Player of the Year in 2010. He has worked closely with Carly’s Courage Club at Roswell Park Comprehensive Cancer Center through his Steadfast program Foundation, a relationship that continued after his time with Cypress.

Miller will join former players Gilbert Perrault (No. 11), Rick Martin (No. 7), Renee Robert (No. 14), Tim Horton (No. 2), Danny Jarre (No. 18), Pat Lafontaine (No. 16), Dominik Hasek (No. 39), Hall of Fame stage voice, Rick Jeanneret, and Northrup co-founders R. Knox and Seymour H. sign in the rafters of KeyBank Center.

Miller will become the 43rd member of the Cypress Hall of Fame and the first inductee since Hasek in 2014.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.